Thursday, 21 June 2012

Hiroshi Tanahashi becomes six time IWGP champion

Hiroshi Tanahashi regains the 
IWGP Championship for sixth time

Hiroshi Tanahashi regains the IWGP Heavyweight championship from Kazuchika Okada at the Dominion 6.16 event making history tying the number of title reigns with previous champ Tatsumi Fujinami’s record.

Okada in action

Tatsumi Fujinami

The pair went on to produce yet another outstanding match at twenty-eight minutes and six seconds.

Tanahashi triumphant once again

Okada took the monumental win over Tanahashi being the first person to end his impressive reign of 404 days as champion at New Beginning on February 12th this year.

Both Fujinami and Tanahashi have held the championship a record six times each.

NJPW founder, Antonio Inoki was the first champion to hold the gold when it was introduced in 1987, defeating Masa Saito.

Antonio Inoki, receiving his well deserved honours

Inoki has also been inducted into the WWE Hall of Fame, in the class of 2010.

The prestigious IWGP Championship

Check here to see the state of the stars for NJPW - State of the Stars, Part Three: ROH, Dragon Gate USA & NJPW

© Max Waltham 21st June 2012

No comments:

Post a Comment